BSS Awards 2021

We are pleased to announce the following awardees and their projects (BSS Virtual Sleep 2021):

  •      Colin Sullivan Award / Miss Gewei Zhu, Newcastle University“Long term impact of poor sleep on future metabolic and mental health: a UK Biobank study of 84,404 participants”

    2)      Lyn Davies Award / Mrs Tracy Jones, St Mary's Hospital

    “The use of Telemedicine in the Management of Continuous Positive Airway Pressure for the Treatment of Obstructive Sleep Apnoea, A Randomised Controlled Trial”

    3)      Scottish Association for Sleep Apnoea (SASA) / Dr Katrina Burrows, University Of Suffolk

    “Using Actigraphy as a measure of cortical arousals in Cardiopulmonary Sleep Studies“

    4)      BSS Clinical Award / Dr Greg Elder, Northumbria University Newcastle

    “The application of non-parametric actigraphy analysis in dementia with Lewy bodies: a pilot study”

    5)      BSS Scientific Award / Dr Mathew Reid, Johns Hopkins School Of Medicine

    “Depression and the role of role of racism as moderators of treatment response to insomnia”

    6)      Green Ribbon Award, best basic science poster / Dr Emma Lombard, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

    “AHI does not adequately reflect OSA severity”

    7)      Green Ribbon Award, best clinical poster / Mr Ankur Singh, University Of Edinburgh

    “Does simultaneous tonic and phasic REM sleep without atonia predict phenoconversion to overt neurodegenerative disease in idiopathic REM sleep behaviour disorder?”

    8)      Green Ribbon Award, best paediatric poster / Dr Heather Elphick, Sheffield Children's Hospital

    “The COMFORT project: development of custom-made masks for children using non-invasive ventilation”

View the abstracts here: to BMJ Open Respiratory Research